Meltdown08

Distinguished
Aug 3, 2009
I've just built a new computer. I am considering of buying another SATA HDD and setting up a RAID 0 using the MB RAID controller to improve performance. I have never used RAID before and have a few questions. The first being how do I recover data if, for example, the RAID controllers are perfectly OK however I catch a nasty virus corrupting the OS to a point of no return.

In the past, I just take the HDD out, plug it into another computer to back to some files, format, and reinstall.

With RAID 0, I am wondering if I can you take the two RAID 0 HDDs out and plug it into another computer to backup the files? Must the other computer also be set up for RAID 0? What if it is a Non-RAID computer, can it read the RAID configurations? If not, what must I do to backup my data.

Also, is it possible to setup two HDD in RAID 0 and one HDD that is not in RAID to serve as a extra HDD to serve as back up to hold important files etc. Or should I save myself the headache and get an external HDD for that purpose.

Thanks you guys in advance

My Rig:
AMD Phenom II X4 945 Deneb 3.0GHz w/
Scythe MUGEN-2 SCMG-2000 120mm CPU Cooler
ASUS M4A79T Deluxe
COOLER MASTER HAF 932
CORSAIR XMS3 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR3
SAPPHIRE 100259-1GL Radeon HD 4870 1GB
CORSAIR CMPSU-850TX 850W
Western Digital Caviar Green WD7500AADS 750GB SATA
SABRENT CRW-FLP2 All-in-one USB 2.0 Floppy Drive

Solution
There are two very important things you need to understand here:

(1) - RAID 0 has NO REDUNANCY - if EITHER drive fails you will loose ALL your data.

(2) - RAID (of any type) is NOT A BACKUP. Even RAID 1 which keeps two copies of your data will not help you if you get a virus or accidentally delete your files. The RAID controller will very obediently update both disks so that your files are deleted or infected with the virus on both of them.

belial2k

Distinguished
Feb 16, 2009