tomhardcore

Distinguished
Mar 11, 2009
I'm a newb when it comes to SSD's. What are the advantages of having one over the standard hard drives? I know they're faster but how so? Does everything load alot faster? Moving files faster, loading applications faster? I appreciate any help.

Standard mechanical hard drives have to physically move an access arm and wait for the disk platters to rotate past the heads. This takes time - a lot of it in computer terms. It takes about a million times longer to access data on a hard drive than it does to retrieve it from RAM.

SSDs are entirely electronic. The system still has to go through more hoops to get at SSD data than RAM data, but all of the mechanical delay is eliminated - so SSDs can retrieve data much faster than a hard drive.

How much faster depends on how you want to measure it. There are two primary measurements for drive performance:

Latency - when you've asked for the data, how long do you have to wait before it starts coming back?

Transfer Rate - once you start getting the data, how much data per second can you get?

Think of latency like looking for a particular passage in a book. It depends on how many pages you have to flip though before you find what you're looking for.

Think of transfer rate like the number of words-per-minute that you can read. Once you've found the right page, how long does it take you to read it?

The latency of an hard drive (how long it takes to find something) is around 150 times longer than that of an SSD. The transfer rate of a hard drive (how fast it reads once it's found the file) is around 2 to 3 times slower than an SSD for reading, and (very roughly) similar to an SSD for writing.