Help me build a new system, please. Advice needed.

Danlo

Distinguished
May 11, 2008
OK, it's time for me to build a new computer. I'm getting tired of this 2 year old AMD 3800+ running at 2.41Ghz. So, I want to build something shiny and new. This computer will be used primarily for playing Lord of the Rings Online and other games (I try all kinds of stuff so it needs to be good overall).

I have a few questions for all of you experts.

First, CPU. Should I spring for an Intel QX9650? Is there something better than this? I know the CPU is very expensive. But, based on what I have read here and elsewhere, I can probably easily overclock this to about 4Ghz with a little bit of work. Is that extreme overkill right now? Should I go with something cheaper, and if so, what? I am a novice at overclocking, so I will likely just play around with that a little bit.

What logic board and RAM would be appropriate with the CPU? I want an overall system that is easy to work with and which will run cool and quiet. For this reason, and others, I probably won't bother with SLI. I figure 4GB of RAM is probably best right now. If I go with a high-end CPU do I need DDR3 RAM to really take advantage of it? Also, what kind of timings do I want to purchase on the RAM?

For video, right now, I'm going with the nVIDIA 8800GTS 512MB which I purchased recently. It helps a little bit in my current system, but not enough. I don't see the real value in going SLI right now as it is problematic with LotRO and I would prefer to have a trouble-free system. I figure I will just replace the video card in a few months to get even better performance anyway.

For OS I will likely dual boot Vista and XP. Both in 32-bit mode right now. I might eventually experiment with Vista-64. I already own XP, but will probably buy Vista Home Premium. As this is a gaming system, the extra backup features of Vista Ultimate probably aren't really worth the money.