HD4850's Won't fit with PFE3 Deluxe Mobo and Case

zman4700

Distinguished
Feb 19, 2007
Hello,
I have just recently purchased 2 HD4850'S and I can fit these cards into my P5E3 Deluxe mobo, but it seems like the cards back panel aren't long enough to be able to screw in, thus making me unable to but in the card. Any idea's? I am kinda of scared right now because this is my first time building a computer and the graphics card's are not fitting. My case is the thermaltake armor (the very large black one).
Thanks in advance,
Zman4700

zipz0p

Distinguished
Jun 24, 2008
I don't have these cards, board, nor case, but from the pictures of the motherboard on Newegg, it looks like you may have issues with the top card running into the memory slot clips.

If the video outs are not close enough to the slots in the back of the case, it's likely that you put the whole motherboard in wrong, unless the other I/O things fit properly.... some pics would help, or a more detailed description of the issue and what you have done and tried so far.

zman4700

Distinguished
Feb 19, 2007
Photo134.jpg

Here you can see in the back of the blue how its not fitting all the way in because the backplate is not large enough to let the card go all the way down into the motherboard.

Photo136.jpg

Here you can see the two cards.

Photo142.jpg

In this picture you can see how the backplates are not large enough. I am letting them rest on the top piece of metal where you screw in the backplate but when I do that I can not fit the card all the way in.

Photo144.jpg

This last picture sums up everything I'm talking about, the card simply just won't fit as you can see.

zman4700

Distinguished
Feb 19, 2007
I just pried back the tip of the back plate so the card could fit in the motherboard completely, but now I have another problem. I can't screw the cards in. Is it safe to leave 2 graphics cards in crossfire like that and not have them screwed in? I need to know this before I start up my computer.