making a desktop for 1500-2500$ need help :p

vsdagama

Distinguished
May 12, 2008
So I have around 1000-1500 euros (I live in europe) or 1500-2500 $ i think that is...
I want to build a desktop wich I am going to use for everything:
-surfing a lot
-gaming: WOW, assassins creed, GTA, swat, everything (downloading lots of games),
-use it as a server (my own game),
-for school stuff...

So I want it to be fast and good and powerfull and silent!
Can u help me?:
-the building itself will be fine but I don't know wich parts to choose!
-choosing or recommend me things? (some brand that is very good or so)
-I'm not good at the technical stuff about computers but I can learn, give me links to tutorials about what parts I need

IS THERE a guide where they tell you this stuff?:
Where to look at when buying a case
" " " " a motherboard
" " " " a processor
etc?? that would be IT

I want the best for my money that's all :p

Thanx!

Skullhuntre

Distinguished
May 12, 2008
I'd probably go with a xeon intel but thats me..idk dude I couldnt give you a good answer quick, it takes time to research and find out which parts match, are compatible, benchmarking, etc..just browse the website, theres a wealth of knowledge here.

gow87

Distinguished
Mar 22, 2007
XEON... wtf?

id say q6600, 4gb ram pc6400, decent motherboard, 8800GT (maybe upgrade when the new series come out) good psu, around 500-600w. a good cpu cooler (check out frostytech's rankings) samsung F1 hdd whatever size you want..

look into these kind of things and you should be able to find plenty of stuff... a uk magazine called custom PC usually has some good reviews and such (www.custompc.co.uk) search the web for benchmarks and tips.

i would recommend build yourself it isnt too complicated and you have the benefit of hand choosing parts.

also remember brand names! OCZ,corsair,crucial make good ram, MSI,gigabyte,asus make good mobo's, powersupplies.. generally you pay for what you get.