Doctor, what is your prognosis?

Last response: in Systems
May 12, 2008 12:39:49 PM

I bought my System in late 2005:
Motherboard: Jetway 939GT2-STD-G, nForce4, 1 PCIe x16 and 1 PCIe x1
CPU: AMD Athlon 64 3500+ 2,2 GHz
RAM: 1 GiB PC3200 DDR-SDRAM
Video card: MSI GeForce 6600GT 256 MiB GDDR3

I am starting to notice a need for more resources in order to enjoy the newly released games.
I am a very poor student so my capital is very constrained. From the research I've done on the latest technology, what I possibly want to consider for purchase would be:
4 GiB of RAM
Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 3,0 GHz

I have no idea what chipset would be appropriate on the motherboard nor what Video card to acquire. At first I had gold fever and thought that 2 GeForce 9800GX2 using SLI manufacture overclocked would be of my interested and a motherboard with nForce 780. But then I remembered I got no money :pt1cable: 

GeForce 9800GX2 seems to be a nice though overly overpriced card. So maybe I should stay away from that one. I am not in a position where my finances allows me to buy the system at this very moment so possible upcoming releases might be recommendable over something else.

So doctor, what is your recommendation?

More about : doctor prognosis

May 12, 2008 12:52:16 PM

My recommendation is write a bucket list. :D 

What's the uses of this build? Is there any overclocking? What's your budget?
May 12, 2008 1:13:39 PM

I don't intend to overclock. I have never been a big fan of overclocking. Too much hassle and uncertain results.

I do play games, although I wouldn't say excessively so. A lot of my time is occupied with even more useless occupations such as browsing the inter-networks, consuming an awful lots of visual media and reading and writing text articles, studying, developing software/games and creating artistic **** and what not artistic. All the above except for gaming I can do on my current system so the purpose of buying a new system would be to play games.