Sign in with
Your question

I need a new video card. Which one

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
May 27, 2008 10:03:34 PM

Hi, I'm a gamer, and my GPU just can't give me the good graphics and high framerate I need. I did a build back in february and i cheaped out on my GPU using my ATI RADEON HD 3850. Well i'll be doing an upgrade on my GPU in the next 2 months and i'm basically looking for feedback. My budget is $250. I'm looking at these cards- what do you recommend?

4850 512mb
8800gt
8800gts
9600gt

anything else?

my current specs:

Gigabyte-P35-Ds3l
Diamond ATI RADEON HD 3850 256mb
320GB Hard Drive 7,200 rpm
4 gb RAM
Windows Vista Home Premium x64

I do fairly high res gaming (1680x1050). I'd like a future-proof card (until at least this time next year) and i want one that can get as close to maxing out graphics whilst maintaining a framerate over 45 fps

Also, how do I check my post without having to find it?

i'm new to tomshardware

More about : video card

a b U Graphics card
May 27, 2008 10:17:16 PM

1) You can check your post without searching for it by "Bookmark"ing it. :)  So view your thread, and bookmark it in your web browser.

2) The 3870 probably isn't a huge jump up from your 3850 I'd guess? I think the 3870 and 9600GT are probably not to far apart performance wise. Your best bet honestly, is to check out Tom's VGA charts or here:

The Best Graphics Cards for the Money: May 08
http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/graphics-card,1923....

Find the best video card on their list for $250.

$260 They recommend 2x GeForce 8800 GS in SLI configuration.

$220 They recommend GeForce 8800 GTS 512MB.
a b U Graphics card
May 27, 2008 11:52:27 PM

My 2 cents:
Throw out the 3870, 9600GT. Not much better than what you have.