Sign in with
Your question

Velociraptors raid 0

Last response: in Storage
August 8, 2009 9:03:17 PM

just curious if these numbers look corrcet burst rate seems low but i am new at this and this is the basic
hd tune read only i think 512kb any help would be appreciated

http://i737.photobucket.com/albums/xx19/fastrak5150/HDT...

More about : velociraptors raid

a b G Storage
August 8, 2009 11:04:42 PM

It's a hair lower than mine, but in the right neighborhood to be sure. As for the burst rate, you can improve performance by downloading the Intel Matrix Storage Console and enabling the write back cache on your RAID volume.
August 9, 2009 7:40:06 AM

cjl said:
It's a hair lower than mine, but in the right neighborhood to be sure. As for the burst rate, you can improve performance by downloading the Intel Matrix Storage Console and enabling the write back cache on your RAID volume.

the hd tune I used was the non payed download just want to be clear and the transfer was 512kb
and I do have the storage matrix just was wondering if that can be used to just improve my current raid 0
without making any changes to it?

thanks for the help,
Related resources
August 9, 2009 8:02:38 AM

Like he said enable write back cache.
a b G Storage
August 9, 2009 9:39:50 AM

Enable the write back cache. It won't change anything on the drives, you won't have to reinstall or anything, and it should slightly boost performance (and massively boost the burst rates)
a c 415 G Storage
August 9, 2009 7:03:10 PM

cjl said:
Enable the write back cache. It won't change anything on the drives, you won't have to reinstall or anything, and it should slightly boost performance (and massively boost the burst rates)

...but you should be aware that enabling the write back cache will expose you to possible data corruption if your system doesn't shut down cleanly due to software crash, hardware failure or power interruption.
a b G Storage
August 10, 2009 2:07:44 AM