What are the timings for this memory?

Texas-Hansen

Distinguished
Jun 30, 2008
I'm considering upgrading my system memory from 4 gb (4 x 1GB) to 6 GB (2 x 1 GB + 2 x 2 GB). I'm an absolute novice at this stuff but am trying to learn quickly. The RAM is DDR2-800 and I'm now trying to figure out the timing on the existing RAM so that what I buy will match it properly (my system is an HP and I do not think I can alter the bios, etc. so I'm assuming I need a perfect match to make it work well together). Here is information taken from CPU-Z via a HTML dump. Is this 6-6-6-18 at 1.8v or 5-6-6-18 at 1.8v? Should the new memory match the timings and voltage exactly?

Chipset & Memory

Northbridge Intel P35/G33/G31 rev. A2
Southbridge Intel 82801IR (ICH9R) rev. 02
Graphic Interface PCI-Express
PCI-E Link Width x16
PCI-E Max Link Width x16
Memory Type DDR2
Memory Size 4096 MBytes
Memory Frequency 400.0 MHz (2:3)
CAS# Latency (tCL) 6.0 clocks
RAS# to CAS# (tRCD) 6 clocks
RAS# Precharge (tRP) 6 clocks
Cycle Time (tRAS) 18 clocks
Command Rate (CR) 2T

niiif

Distinguished
May 24, 2008
Why would you think the CAS is 5 when it clearly says 6? I don't see your point in wanting to upgrade to 6GB of memory. First dual channel with a 4 gig kit and the other a 2? IMO that's worse than having slightly different timings. Each channel works separate so it's not like your losing any performance.

But if it's any problem, just flash the bios, then tighten/loosen the timings to your liking.

Your name isn't blake or trevor by any chance is it?

Oh and what's the clock on your FSB?

Texas-Hansen

Distinguished
Jun 30, 2008

As I said in my original post, I'm a novice at this stuff but trying to learn. In another thread where I did not have all this information, it was suggested that I might have 5 6 6 18 and when I saw this output from CPU-Z, I was confused...hence the thread seeking advice.