Sign in with
Your question

Building a Gaming Rig - Let me know what you think.

Tags:
  • New Build
  • Systems
Last response: in Systems
May 14, 2008 4:47:18 PM

Here is what im thinking.

Case: NZXT Tempest
CPU: Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300 (2.5GHz)
MoBo: ASUS P5N-D
RAM: Corsair XMS2 Twin2XDHX 4G Kit (Thinking of getting two kits for total of 8G of RAM.)
PSU: THERMALTAKE Toughpower W0155RU 1000W
HDs: x2 320 Barracudas
GPU: x2 eVGA 9800GTX 512MB SLi

Optical drives, I'm not too worried about because I can just get them out of my other PCs.

But I have no experience in Sound Cards, so I need some insight on that.

Let me know what you guys think.

More about : building gaming rig

May 14, 2008 5:05:46 PM

I'd spend less on video cards and PSU and more on the CPU.

If you only want two video cards, no Triple-SLI, then 8800GTS G92 512MB cards are a better choice than 9800GTX. Almost the same speed, much less cash. The P5N-D is a 750i mobo and only allows two video cards anyway. You need a 780i mobo if you want the option to add a third later.

The PSU doesn't have to be 1000W. The 850W Toughpower would be plenty. The Silencer 750W would also be fine (with only two hard disks) and it has the added advantage that it blows the air out of the back of the case rather than to the bottom of the case where the airflow is blocked by the floor. Plus it's $100 less.

The Q9300 has a lousy multiplier which complicates overclocking. You can do better with a Q6700 or Q9450.

Add a Xigmatek HDT-S1283 cooler.

Do you really need a sound card? Are you sure you will still have a non-blocked PCI slot for it after you add two thick graphics cards? I suggest you don't buy any sound card yet and research that later. Try onboard audio first, it's pretty good these days.

May 14, 2008 5:46:06 PM

Hi Aevm,
I am not sure you know what you are doing?