PC won't boot w/ 2 ex-RAID (Intel Matrix) WD HDDs connected,on P5QPro

Steelercaz

Distinguished
Apr 22, 2009
Hi all

I had my PC setup with 2 500Gb Caviar Blue HDDs as Intel MatrixRAIDon the above Mobo, with 100Gb as a RAiD 0 as my C:/ drive & the rest as RAID 1 for data, which at that time was my H:/ drive. I also had a 250Gb Seagate drive, as K drive, for important data backup. All 3 drives were/are SATA.

I started having problems with my setup, & couldn't get any answers that helpe on here or any other boards, so last week decided to quit the RAID system, & set my PC up 'normally', as I have very little RAID experience.

Iordered another WD 500Gb, this time the faster Caviar Black, to use as my C:/ drive, with the intention of keeping the slightly slower WD 500Gbs aa data backup, & the Seagate one for 'bits & pieces'.

I backed everything up, booted into the RAID configurer & deleted the 2 RAID 'drives', which I was told would wipe the drives clean. I then disconnected them, but left them in the PC, & after changing the 'Use hard drives as...' setting in BIOS back to SATA from RAID, installed XP on the new WD Black drive.

But then the problem started - I connected back up the original WD x2 drives, using same cables & mobo ports, intending to format them in Windows. However, with both of them plugged in the PC won't boot - no error message, just a black DOS like prompt, which is just a White flashing underscore. I booted again, same thing, a 3rd time I went into the BIO thinking it was just a boot priority thing, but it could only 'see' the Seagate drive& the SATA DVD drive, none of the other 3 HDDs.

I then tried disconnecting 1 of the ex RAID WD drives & got same result, disconnected that 1 & connected the other, & this time got a message at the DOS-lik prompt along the lines of 'select a proper boot source or insert a boot cd'.

If I disconnect them both, & just go back to the new Caviar Black & the Seagate, all goes back to how it was & boots fine.