Sign in with
Your question

Your Opinion on 1st time system build

Last response: in Systems
May 15, 2008 5:45:45 PM

I apologize for my noobness, as this is the first time I have posted on this forum and the first time I have tried to build my own system. I would like to get the opinion of anyone willing to give one on the system I plan to build before I spend the money on parts. I would welcome any comments/suggestions on the following setup (especially if I have neglected some detail such as compatibility of parts or if the power supply is not enough). I have tried to research everything carefully to make sure that the parts will be compatible with one another, but since this is my first time.... I'd rather be safe than sorry.

Case: Antec Nine Hundred Steel ATX Mid Tower
Video Card: VisionTek ATI RADEON HD3870
Motherboard: K9A2 Platinum (MS-7376) (or the M3A32-MVP deluxe, but I'm leaning towards the K9A2 Platinum (MS-7376) because it seems like the same bang for less buck)
CPU: AMD Phenom™ X4 Quad-Core 9550
HD: WESTERN DIGITAL 500 GB SATA
Memory: 4GB DDR2
SONY DVD DRIVE - BLACK
SONY DVDRW DL - BLACK
FLOPPY: MITSUMI 7 IN 1 CARD READER/FLOPPY DRIVE
ETHERNET CARD: DLINK 10/100 (Not sure about this at all, will most likely be doing online gaming so I welcome suggestions)
PS: CORSAIR CMPSU-750TX 750W ATX12V / EPS12V Power Supply

Please let me know if you need any other information.
Thank you in advance! :) 

May 15, 2008 5:57:26 PM

Personally, i would opt for a C2Q Q6600 system with a DS3L.

Either way, 750w is overkill. A Corsair 550VX would be more than sufficient for you.

Home Basic? Really? You would be better off with XP x64.
May 15, 2008 5:59:13 PM

why do you need the ethernet card if it's already included on the motherboard.

are you gonna get the 64bit vista? maybe you should get the home premium version instead of basic. i've seen at microcenter and newegg home premium for less than a hundred dollars.