Sign in with
Your question

Help A Newbie Build A Computer!

Last response: in Systems
May 17, 2008 8:52:06 AM

Hey guys, I've never built a computer before, and I really don't know much about specific parts. I've been reading for a few days now and it still doesnt make much sense to me. Anyway, hopefully you'll be capable of helping me.

I want to build a new computer for gaming, my current one is about 7 years old. Specifically, I want a computer that can run a new game coming out called "Age of Conan". Here are the recommended configurations for the game.

Recommended configuration (Up to 1280X960, most features on)
Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo 2.4GHz or equivalent
RAM: 2048MB Dual Channel DDR2
Video card: NVIDIA GeForce 7900 GTX or equivalent
Video memory: 512MB
DVD-ROM: Quad-speed (4x) DVD-ROM drive
HARD DRIVE SPACE: 30GB

Ideally, I'm looking to spend around $750, but I'd understand if that is unrealistic for getting a computer of this caliber. If anyone could point out some viable options I'd certainly appreciate it.

Please keep in mind however that I'm Canadian, and I believe NewEgg does not ship to Canada.

Thanks fellas, I appreciate any help you can give!

PS: I looked around TigerDirect.ca and came up with this:

NZXT HUSH Black ATX Mid-Tower Case - $97.99
Intel DP35DPM Intel Socket 775 ATX Motherboard - $128.99
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 2.40GHz Socket 775 OEM Processor - $341.59 (-$121.60) = $219.99
Ultra X-Connect V-Series (XVS) 500-Watt Power Supply - $97.59 (-$36.60) = $60.99
Corsair Dual Channel TWINX 2048MB PC6400 DDR2 800MHz E.P.P. Memory (2 x 1024) - $69.99 (-$25) = $44.99
$622.99 (-$25rebate) = $597.99

PowerUp P4 CPU Cooling Fan - $24.99
EVGA GeForce 8800 GT Video Card PCIe 2.0 - $189.99 (-$30rebate) = $159.99

Total = 824.97 before tax ($950 or so)

A little out of my price range, any thing you can fix up would be great!

More about : newbie build computer

May 17, 2008 9:50:08 AM