Noob - Building SWEET entertainment system

coiney

Distinguished
May 17, 2008
Hey knowledgeable expert people:

I'm new to building PCs, though I'm fairly tech saavy. I'm interested in building a really nice gaming/entertainment PC.

I don't intend to do any work with this thing... I have a laptop for that.

Here's what I'd like to do:
-use at least a core 2 duo circa 3.0 ghz (should I go intel? should I overclock?)
-run the latest best coolest games... (graphics cards?)
-hook up to an HD tv as monitor
-interested in using MYTHBOX... meaning I need the hardware for that
-use this for both media storage and gaming basically.

Every component is up for grabs. I'm doing a bunch of research and I'd love to consider your expertise.

Target price range - circa $1500.

Cheers and thanks.

shadowduck

Distinguished
Jan 24, 2006
CPU: Q6600 (2.4GHz quad core/quad core will benefit your application) can easily overclock to 3.6. Or spend a bit more and get the Q9300 which is a 45nm part
Graphics Card: 8800GT or 9800GX2 if you are going to run a high resolution- both will drive an HDTV too.
Motherboard: Asus P5E x38 (FSB1600 support, native 45nm support)
RAM: 4GB G.Skill DDR2-800/1066
Hard Drives- 3x 500GB Segate SATAII 32MB in RAID-5. Your application will benefit from RAID. Level 5 allows the speed benefit of level 1 without the data loss risk. (One drive can fail and the RAID won't lose all data).
Case- up to you
PSU- Corsair VX550W
OS- Windows XP MCE or Vista Home Prem (Vista is better in this case- for DX10 support and improved Media Center application)
Sound Card- ASUS Xonar DX 7.1 (since video is a main use- this will work better than onboard sound).

Hope this helps you :)

groo

Distinguished
Feb 3, 2008
you'll want a quiet PC with no annoying lights.
the antec p182 would fit the bill for a case