Sign in with
Your question

Card is getting searing hot.

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
June 4, 2008 3:39:03 PM

I recently started playing Mass Effect and this game is really making my card sweat!

I own an Asus Geforce 8800GT 512MB. I believe that the current series of this card have a larger fan then the first series. Well I got one from the first series, so it's the smaller fan.
Anyways, my case is pretty big and well ventilated (it's a Gigabyte 570S Aurora) and it has a mesh side fitting so lots of air holes and I clean it regularly.
My card idles at 62C and reaches 91C on load (with the fan at 100% mind you!). My room temperature is at about 26C in average. Is that normal temperature levels considering all of what I mentioned? And if so, are there any tips to keep my card cooler (besides buying an alternative cooling system)?

Also I read around, and I understood that 91C is a temp that this card can handle, but can it honestly handle this level of heat during like an hour and half of gameplay?? I'm finding it hard to believe...

Thanks in advance!

More about : card searing hot

June 4, 2008 3:54:09 PM

I cant help you too much but i have an asus 3870 and it idles at 36C and at load it is around 57C. My problem is that this card has trouble at 1920X1200 so I need 2 for crossfire. but for an idle at 62C I think that is really hot. Thats hotter than my Phemon 9600 at max load. You might what to check that.
June 4, 2008 4:00:16 PM

I have an 8800GT OCed by XFX and really you should not have to worry about it i have a newer one and mine is Idle right now at 61C GPU's Run hot i once had my 7950GT from XFX up to 106C with no trouble at all ( that was running Lost Planet on Pc)

Hope this helps
Related resources
June 4, 2008 4:00:46 PM