Using files from a slower hard drive on a faster hard drive

lations

Distinguished
Mar 5, 2009
Hi guys, I am new to all this since I just now ordered my first desktop (wont have it for another week).

I will have two 150GB velociraptors in raid 0. I will also have a 1.5 TB drive at 7200 (and will get more of these later).

I plan on putting my OS, applications for encoding, games and such on the velociraptors.

My question is this:

If I have something like i-tunes on the velociraptor to keep things moving fast, does that mean my music needs to be on the velociraptors to get that performance increase?

More importantly, if I have dvd's stored on the 1.5 TB drive, will I be able to use Windows Media Center from the velociraptors to access those dvds? I really want to stream dvd's from the 1.5 TB drive using programs on the velociraptors and send it to something like my Xbox. I have read that streaming such videos can be demanding on the computer and requires as much speed as possible.

ANY knowledge surrounding this topic in general would be GREATLY appreciated. I am new to this and I want to be able to set up my new desktop efficiently and organized from the start.

spinny

Distinguished
Jun 4, 2006
Programs don't care what hard drive the files you are using them are on, as long as it's in your system and they can see it. So having your music and video on your larger hard drive and your programs on the faster one works fine.

Streaming music and video is not demanding on any decent 7200 RPM hard drive, unless perhaps the video is extremely high resolution (DVD resolution is not a problem). So unless you are editing it, you dont' need to worry about keeping it on the faster hard drive. Mainly people run into problems with the speed of their wireless networks while trying to stream video.

lations

Distinguished
Mar 5, 2009