Sign in with
Your question

Value of raid 0 for video editing

Last response: in Storage
Anonymous
a b G Storage
August 22, 2009 4:27:55 PM

After Windows 7 is released, I would like to buy a desktop with an i7 quad-core and 6GB of memory for video editing using Camtasia Studio.

According to some experts, it is better to keep your video files on a Raid 0 configuration for faster transcoding.

If I configure two 500GB drives in raid 0 will it be much faster than a single 1TB when transcoding and therefore worth the cost and effort?

More about : raid video editing

a c 415 G Storage
August 22, 2009 5:22:46 PM

I'm not an expert in video transcoding, but the basic operation is to read one big file, do a lot of CPU crunching, and write a second big file all in parallel, correct? You might get results just as good or better if you buy two separate drives, don't use RAID, and arrange for the input and output files to be on different disks. And you won't get the increased risk of loosing everything that RAID 0 brings (with 2 separate disks you have just as much chance of a disk failure as two disks in a RAID 0 set, but if one fails you'll ONLY loose the stuff on that one drive).
August 23, 2009 12:21:01 PM

Quote:
After Windows 7 is released, I would like to buy a desktop with an i7 quad-core and 6GB of memory for video editing using Camtasia Studio.

According to some experts, it is better to keep your video files on a Raid 0 configuration for faster transcoding.

If I configure two 500GB drives in raid 0 will it be much faster than a single 1TB when transcoding and therefore worth the cost and effort?

sminlal's suggestion is very good. Significantly better than using a RAID 0.