RyanS2000

Distinguished
May 23, 2008
I have a cooler master Centurion 5 CAC-T05-UW case and it comes with a 120mm rear exhaust fan and a 80mm intake fan which sits in front of the hard-drive bays, blowing directly on them. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811119068

I was considering adding an intake fan to increase air flow in the case. Is it better to have more exhaust flow or intake flow, or equal on each end? I was thinking that having more flow from the exhaust could possibly help to bring cold air through the entire front of the case (the whole front is mesh). On the same token, having a 120mm cranking cold air in from the front plus having an 80mm would bring in a lot of air too.

Which do you think is better:

1 x 80mm intake, blowing on hdd's
1 x 120mm intake, below dvd drive, blowing in direction of CPU\memory
- (if you look at the case, i have my dvd drive mounted in the top location, the 120mm intake fan would be directly under that)
1 x 120mm exhaust fan

or

the stock config;
1 x 80 intake, blowing on hdd's
1x 120mm exhaust

I love that case. I had it and cut a hole in the top for an additional 120mm case and used a rubber rim to cover the rough edges and used a fan guard to cover the fan. I dont know if I can find any pictures of the mod but if I do I will post them here so you will better know what I am talking about.

You can also put another 120mm fan on the side that the motherboard is mounted to. I did this too and set it as an intake and had a hard drive slot cooler that fastened into a slot where a hard drive would go and it was between my two hard drives.

I ended up giving it to my girlfriends brother and he loves it. It was one of my favorite mods I made. Plenty of airflow. You can do a lot with that case for a low price...

RyanS2000

Distinguished
May 23, 2008
englandr, since it's new I really don't want to chop it up or anything. But down that road that's a possibility.