Windows cannot pass the startup screen.. help please

bakadesu

Distinguished
Aug 26, 2009
hello, first of all, i'am a newb.. i have 2 harddisk one of them is an old I.D.E (40 gig) which i used it as a primary (to put my os) and the other one is a SATA (160gig) to put my data etc.. (secondary)

this problem began when i rip a video from a website (using a flashgot extention on firefox), and on halfway, my electricity went down (power failure) so my pc didn't have the time to complete the file rip. and then all hell broke loose

when i plug the SATA on my mobo, the OS (windows XP) stuck on the startup screen and couldn't continue. but when i unplug the SATA the problem is gone and my XP start normally.

i'm guessing is that the windows still saving that data to my SATA so because of that, it became stuck at the startup of the windows, but as i already wrote, i'm a newb, so i don't know exactly. so if its true can anyone help me how to cancel that saving process? or if it isn't the pronlem, can anyone tell me what it is?

thank you for the reply, and i'm very sorry if my english sucks.

bakadesu

Distinguished
Aug 26, 2009
yup i've tried that, and the problems still preserve, even on another pc. does that mean my SATA broke? sorry for this newbish question, cause all my important data are in there...

Paperdoc

Polypheme
Ambassador
My guess is data corruption of the SATA drive, probably in the hidden files that contain the directories and sector allocation data, but possibly in the Partition Table since windows apparently can't even make any sense of the drive. If that is the case you need some software able to analyze and restore the data properly. If this works, the file you were downloading will be junk and you will have to delete it and download again. But the rest of your data should be recoverable.