Sign in with
Your question

Total noob to Phenom II x3 720 OCing, what do i have to do?

Last response: in Overclocking
March 13, 2009 3:11:00 AM

yea, i want more performance (so does everyone else on this forum)

however, i do not know squat, so hopefully one of you will fill me in, like you teach me as if i'm a total idiot.

Before you suggest anything, here's my build...

Phenom II x3 720 BE

mobo:
Gigabyte GA-MA790FXT-UD5P AM3 DDR3 AMD 790FX

PSU:
OCZ Fatal1ty OCZ550FTY 550W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI Ready CrossFire Ready Modular Active PFC Power Supply - Retail

i think that's the info you need...

however, i have the crappy stock cooler on, so don't expect 3.5 ghz, something more like 3.0 or 3.2, that's about it.

Thanks for the suggestions!
March 13, 2009 4:16:21 AM

just change the multipler to 16x run prime95 if stable your good to go if not go back to 15x
Related resources
March 13, 2009 5:07:16 AM

okay, what's with disabling Cool n' Quiet? sounds like a good thing...

do i just change the multiplier and that's it? just set it and forget?

oh, and do i do it through BIOS or AMD overdrive?
March 13, 2009 5:20:12 AM

yea... i guess something gets screwy when you change the multiplier on Windows, wonder why though...
March 22, 2009 12:34:10 PM

Sooo true, always BIOS. Never software in OS. I just tried to undervolt my phenom 710 like 30 mins ago and I crashed lmao.

For OCing, disable spread spectrum, raise multiplier by one, do an OCCT test. If it's not stable, raise vcore a tiny bit until it's stable, and keep doing that until you're satisfied. Don't worry about locking PCI frequency and RAM frequency and all that; you're raising the multiplier (unlike me XD) so there's no need to worry about increasing the overall frequency of your system. When only OCing the multipler, you only need extra cooling for the cpu.
April 2, 2009 1:21:45 PM

Again, i'm an idiot to this sort of thing...