How To Install Caviar Black 1TB in my Cooler Master CM 690

ckaz

Distinguished
Aug 13, 2009
The title says it all on this one. What goes where? Start from the beginning in the explanation, as I am a noob.

Solution
Optical drives are always 5¼". The two size names go back to the early days of floppy disks. Originally IBM PC's (and many home computer systems of that time) came with floppy drives that used disks 5¼" diameter. The computer case had one or more mounting bays open to the front in which to mount the floppy drives. When IBM introduces the PS/2 design in the mid-80's they also brought in a new floppy disk system using disks of only 3½" diameter inside a hard plastic case with a sliding cover over the access window. They had higher storage capacity, were better-protected, and took up less space. The mounting bays for them, of course, were smaller, too. That was also the time that hard drives, too, adopted a physical case size similar to...

Kithzaru

Distinguished
Apr 23, 2009
I have a 690 case, so i will try to explain it the best i can from memory...

If the side of the case is off and it is laying down on the ground in front of you, to your right, near the front of the case on the bottom-ish section are small black trays.

To pull the trays out, just sqweez the semi-circular handle and it should slide right out. You should notice on the black tray, around the inside, there are 4 little prongs, those 4 prongs go where the screws would normally go on the HDD. So go ahead and place the HDD in the tray, face up, making sure the prongs line up in the hole.

You should notice the prongs are rubber coated at the base, this is nice because it cuts down on vibration.

Once the drive is in the tray, slide the tray back into position and it should be fine. Connect the SATA or IDE in the back and the power and you're good to go.