Sign in with
Your question

new to networking

Last response: in Wireless Networking
March 16, 2004 1:34:05 AM

Hi there i've got a few questions to ask on wireless networking...well networking in general well here i go

1: would a wireless network need a router for just 2pcs?
2: would it work through a ceiling as the other pc is only a few meters above this pc?
3:would it be possible to use the connection for a simple 2 pc lan gaming set up?
4: would ping times for online games increase if i were sharing through the pc which is downstairs to the one up stairs? (if that makes any sense?!?)

oh and i dont know if its rly related but my broadband ISP only lets 1 pc connect so i dont think i can use a router but would it be possible to use the windows internet sharing program? and if so would each pc get a different IP address?

Sorry for asking so many questions im new to networking and dont rly want to have to trail a 10meter cable around my house any answers would be greatly appreciated.

More about : networking

March 16, 2004 2:34:59 AM

1: would a wireless network need a router for just 2pcs?
not if you don't want Internet access

2: would it work through a ceiling as the other pc is only a few meters above this pc?
yes, mine does

3:would it be possible to use the connection for a simple 2 pc lan gaming set up?
yes. I do.

4: would ping times for online games increase if i were sharing through the pc which is downstairs to the one up stairs? (if that makes any sense?!?)
if you were sharing, but not copying/moving files at the time, ping times would not be affected.

oh and i dont know if its rly related but my broadband ISP only lets 1 pc connect so i dont think i can use a router but would it be possible to use the windows internet sharing program? and if so would each pc get a different IP address?
This is exactly the situation you WOULD want to use a router for.

<pre> \|/
jlanka (. .)
___________oOOo_(_(_)_)_oOOo___________
</pre><p>