Sign in with
Your question

Built new system and need advice please ?

Last response: in Systems
May 22, 2008 7:53:55 PM

Hi everyone ! I'm new at this so please bear with me ?

I spend a lot of time in a wheelchair, and being home from my latest surgery, I wanted to build another computer. I bought the parts as I could afford them, and now I'm finished and having some issues. Here's what I have:

Asus M3A motherboard
Phenom 9600 Black (don't spank me- I fell for the hype and now I'm stuck)
4 gig of 800 ram
2X 500 gig sata hdd running raid 0
Sony DVD burner & FDD
Nvidia GEforce PNY-7600GS/512mb PCIe card
Vista 64-bit O/S
700w p/s

I have downloaded all the latest/greatest 64 bit dirivers from the mfgs, and have been doing a clean install each time. The Asus board lets you run it aggressively, which I have done, but nothing crazy yet, very mild. I finish all the updates from Microsoft (54 I think) and even Service Pack 1. Then, after a couple of days of light use, it will just crash and won't restart from sleep mode or just regular screensaver mode. The system won't even let me repair itself using the Vista disc Repair Console.
This has happened about 10 times now, and I can re-install with my eyes closed !

Contacted Microsoft, and they blame third party apps, as always !

I saw one forum that said that only ATI video cards should be used on Asus boards, NOT Geforce, and that was the problem. Does anyone here know this for sure ? Another blames the 64-Bit Vista for everything. Could this be true also ? I ran a system scanner from a third party, and it immediately said my video wasn't compatable, but PNY's website says it is. I don't have the extra $ right now, but want to get an ATI 3870 later. Would that be a good choice ?

I don't know what else to try. Have installed the drivers, updates and service pack 1 in different orders each time, but it doesn't matter. I never get further than about 3 days before crash and burn.