Sign in with
Your question

Raid Noob + Mobo Question

Last response: in Storage
Anonymous
a b V Motherboard
a b G Storage
August 31, 2009 3:57:01 PM

Ok so I have a few questions about setting up raid on my motherboard.
I don't have the actual drives yet, but i'm just asking now ahead of time.

First of all my Mobo is an ASRock A780GMH/128M. It's Supposed to have the 780G/710 Chipset. But for some reason my shows as a 780G/750. (See Below) I'm not sure what to make of this..

Secondly, If I enable Raid in the Bios, Does that mean all my HD's I plug in will be in the raid setup I chose?
I plan on using to WD Black 640Gb in Raid 0.
I was thinking of setting up the Raid then OS and after everything is how I want it I'll go back and add my other hard drives.

This is my first time attempting to setup Raid.
I haven't been able to find any good guides on how to do this with AMD Chipset.

Any Advice/tips or comments would be greatly appreciated.

September 1, 2009 4:35:26 AM

Typically with an on board raid controller there's a button that boots you in to set up the raid, like f8 for safe mode. it's more then likely in your mother board book.

if you wait till after to set up the raid it would be kind of point less you would first install the os on one hard drive the have to go back and reformat the drives to place the os on the raid volume.

just to further explain, the raid controller is going to take two or more drives, you want them to be identical and make them look like one hard drive. Then install the os across these drive's to create one large drive or a back up volume depending on which raid you pick. you want this set up first by using the raid utility that come with your mother board.
m
l
September 1, 2009 1:32:05 PM

what other hard drive will you have aside from the 2 640gb drives?

From what i've seen w\ onboard sata raid, you have to set the sata ports to [raid] mode from a defaulted standard mode in the bios.