First Time Overclocker...need advice

kortex

Distinguished
Nov 9, 2007
This is my first time overclocking. I want to make my cpu and ram a little bit faster. Here is what I just bought

Core i7 920
Asus P6T Deluxe V2
OCZ Platinum 6GB (3 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)

I haven't made any changes in bios. Many things are set to auto. There is probably a guide but I didn't see it.
There are all these things to change and I'm sort of overwhelmed. Maybe there's something I should read?
Thanks.

--kortex.

computabug

Distinguished
Mar 17, 2009
Hey kortex, I just began OCing too. I started off with an old Pentium 4 a few months ago, and now I'm taking it slowly with my new Phenom II 710. Here are some precaution before overclocking:

-Lock your PCI frequency at 100mhz or whatever it was so you don't overclock your graphics card along with your cpu, and any other frequencies that seem to go up with your fsb
-in addition to the above, most mobos should have a memory frequency divider or something like that, it allows you to run ram at a lower frequency, because it also goes up with your mobo
-I'd suggest that you disable the spread spectrum. Most people say that it interferes with OCing. I think using spread spectrum is better for your health or something... Maybe it allows you to use your cellphone beside your PC without static or something?
-Make sure you monitor temps and give your pc adequate cooling. Place fans over heatsinks and ram that don't already have fans
-Download a program to test stability and stuff. I use CPU-Z and OCCT.