Sign in with
Your question

Need Suggestions for Build

Last response: in Systems
May 25, 2008 1:55:06 AM

I want to build a new system that I won't need to upgrade for a while (2-4 years). This is my first build, i have almost decide on the parts, just need some suggestions/advice. I will be using it for anything from plenty of gaming to a home theater. My budget is anywhere from $1000 to $1400 This is what i'm going with:

CPU: Intel C2Q Q9450
MOBO: No clue here.....
RAM: 4GB? 2GB if too much?
PSU: I think Corsair 650W or 750W? But which one is good for what i need?
HDD: This 500GB Samsung looks perfect
CPU Cooler: I read that this Scythe is super quiet and cooling efficient. Anybody have any other suggestions?
Case: Either this Antec Nine Hundred or the Zalman GS1000 when it comes out.
GPU: I am completely stuck on this. I can't decide. Any suggestions?
DVD: 2 of these

Just adding, if anybody can tell me a quieter case or fan, i would really appreciate it, because I will be watching many movies on this. THANKS!!!!!!!

More about : suggestions build

May 25, 2008 6:19:01 AM

Why is it that every time I post a thread for help with this, IT NEVER GETS ANSWERED, not just here, BUT IN ANY FORUM in ANY other website?!?!?!??!?!??!?
May 25, 2008 7:00:35 AM

Patients, someone will be around to answer you.

First of all I would ask if you plan to attempt overclocking.

The Q9450 is a great chip and you can't really go wrong with it. You wrote that you don't want to upgrade for 2-4 years, does that include the video card?

If you want to upgrade the video card in a year or two I would suggest a motherboard with PCI-E 2.0 (X38, X48, 750i, 780i). That way you can be sure that your board isn't bottlenecking your card. If you don't want to upgrade anything in that time frame I would suggest a P35 board. Current video cards don't make use of the PCI-E 2.0 bandwidth so if you don't plan on upgrading your card then you don't need it.

For your RAM go with 4GB of DDR2 (2x2GB).