What's the Most Reliable & Compatible Blu Ray Burner?

connect4

Distinguished
May 12, 2008
I have used DVD burners for years, and I'm looking to upgrade to Blu-Ray.
25 Gb's is much more appealing than 4.7Gb.

I am new to Blu Ray media, and I was wondering if anyone knows which Brand / Model of Blu-Ray are the most reliable / compatible.

Reliability: the burner itself and the blu rays media it creates are very stable.
Compatibility:the burner will work with most brands of blank blu ray media and that it is can play on most Blu Ray Players.

Please share your posts if you know a brand / model that has those two qualities.

Also, if anyone has links of comparison reviews please also share those links: Ex: "Round up of the best blu-ray players on the market in 2009!"

rockyjohn

Distinguished

It would have been nice if you had started with more than one un-linked example. Perhaps you could have googled and found a list - then asked of others had suggestion for other reviews or personal experience. I will add one review from google - but I am not about to do all your work for you.

http://compreviews.about.com/od/cddvd/tp/BlurayDrives.htm

Sean John

Distinguished
Nov 3, 2009
Don't know if this helps, but...

...I'm using a DIGISTOR external Blu-Ray burner (tray load).

This one here:
http://www.digistor.com/Digistor-External-Blu-ray-Burner-USB-2-0-Tray-Load

I went external for flexibility, being able to bring the drive to almost any system I use. It's compatible to PC, and has no problems with Mac systems as well.

It plays all the Blu-ray media types I've fed it so far, and not a single bad burn for over a year now that I've owned it.

leon2006

Distinguished
I use LG since 2007(refer to my configuration). I use branded BD disk media as backup storage for my drive images files. I also burned HD movies on BD disc. No failures on the burner or media to date.

US known brand disc. It is expensive but reliable.