An illustrator's and gamer's computer...

DirtyDavinci

Distinguished
Aug 20, 2004
Hello, to all. I wanted suggests for a new system I am building, but it has been a while since I pieced together my last one. I am woefully behind on the new items out there on the market, and I really don’t know what would be the best combinations for me, especially with the new technologies. So I’ve decided to ask for suggestions. I’ll give you an idea of what I would like. I am an illustrator who uses animation and digital programs for my works, as well as being a gamer. I would like a system capable of running programs like Photoshop, 3d studio max or Maya (for animation rendering) while still being able to use resources for other applications, like gaming in the meantime. My concern is having a good processor (dual or quad), with at least 4 gigs of ram and a high end video card. Any suggestions on models, makes, brands? I am willing to spend 2k-2.5k on the computer, not including price of peripherals. Any suggestions are appreciated. Thanks!

Photoshop would benefit from a quad. Rendering programs usually do too, or they will in the future anyway. Get a quad.

Since you are using this for work, I suggest you do NOT overclock. OK, do overclock, if you're good at it and/or don't mind risking the occasional crash. I think Q6700 or Q9450 would be best. The Q6700 is cheaper, but the Q9450 has a new set of instructions called SSE4 which may be useful in your work once software starts supporting it.

Some ideas for MB/video/PSU:
- for that budget you can even consider a setup like XFX 780i + three 9800GTX + Toughpower 1000W. That makes sense if you have a huge monitor (30").
- for a 24" monitor (or 28", or LCD TV with 1080p): Asus P5N-D, two 8800GTS G92 512MB cards, Silencer 750W
- for a 22" monitor or less: GA-EP35-DS3R, one 8800GTS G92 512MB card, Corsair 650TX or 550VX

Other things to check out at www.newegg.com: WD6400AAKS, SH-S203B.