old comp upgrade

Bobor229

Distinguished
Jul 6, 2008
I have old comp with Intel Pentium 4 630 Prescott 3.0GHz and i want to upgrade it using some motherboard with p35/p45 chipset ( some boards support it) . Is it possible ?

blackwidow_rsa

Distinguished
Aug 16, 2007
Yes it does, i bought an abit IP35-E and popped my P4 631 right in there, worked like a charm. If you're looking at a specific board go to the mobo maker's website and look up the boards cpu compatibility list

lrivard

Distinguished
Mar 4, 2007

You're right and wrong,one would benifit from increased bandwith as well as a better chipset and an open upgrade including crossfire, A computer is more then just a CPU, tho can be a bottle neck.

Now back to the question at hand, A p35 would be great. I can help you with any question or inquiries. I do consulting for a living. If you just want to list the details of your current rig if can give you some points of how to maximize current and future power and ugrade paths that will save you money. This offer is also open to anyone.

LRivard

Bobor229

Distinguished
Jul 6, 2008

Yes I know that my CPU wont run faster but I don't have another option to upgrade my PC ( unless changing all components :( ).

and my pc: MOBO: MSI 925XE Neo Platinum, PSU: 350W KME, HDD: 160 GB Maxtor, VGA: RAD X600 Pro 256, RAM: 2 x 512MB 533, CPU: P4 3.0 Ghz 630.

It is not an upgrade, unless you improve something. If you want faster, just changing a mobo won't do it. If your mobo is failing, or unstable, then it is worth changing. If you have money in your pocket, burning a hole, then resist the urge until you can spend it on something worthwhile. Put it in the bank, and earn some(miserable) interest. Prices for electronics go down, not up, so you can get a better/cheaper part later. Just my 2 cents.

Vertigon

Distinguished
Apr 3, 2008
A computer is only as fast as its slowest bottleneck. Have you found your slowest bottleneck? I'm thinking it might be your GPU.