Motherboard for Media/File Server

rlslehigh

Distinguished
Jul 28, 2008
I need a motherboard that is capable of supporting up to 20 SATA hard drives in one RAID 6 volume. I guess it goes without saying that the motherboard itself need not have 20 SATA ports, but it should have enough SATA ports, plus be able to support enough PCI controllers in order to reach 20 HDDs.

Also, I'm not sure what kind of video card arrangement I will wind up going with, but it would be best if the motherboard could work with the SLI or Crossfire set-ups.

I apologize if I've left out some important details in order for you guys to make any recommendations. I am a relative newb in this arena, but I hope you won't mind giving me some advice anyway.

Many Thanks,
Ryan

cyborg28

Distinguished
Aug 2, 2007
Really? You want a super-hard-core-gaming-RAID-mahoossive-file-server motherboard? Why? Sounds like you want 2 separate computers.

Do you just need huge amts of storage or also high speed read/write to the array? If you are ok with moderate file system performance and if you are OK with building two computers then this:

http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/ciprico-enterprise-raid,1970.html
looks like a good way to start your raid array.

Get any old system that supports lots or PCI or PCIe x1 slots.
I would suggest an old Athlon X2 full ATX board with 3-4 PCI slots and
get cheap simple 4 port Silicon Image Raid cards.
http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/storage/display/sil-3114.html

I know that PCI express will give better performance but, you will need newer hardware and I dont know a suitable cheap RAID card off hand. I'm sure they are out there.

rlslehigh

Distinguished
Jul 28, 2008
Thanks for your advice.

I figured when I started to get answers from people who know their stuff, that it would lead to even more questions. So, please bear with me, I am learning more and more about the particulars of this project everyday.