About $1200 for a Gaming Rig, complete newbie, seeking advice.

AVSexton

Distinguished
May 26, 2008
Hi there;

I'm looking to spend about $1200 (though I would be willing to go slightly higher) on my first-ever self-built system. I'm looking for input on components.

Here is my situation:

I intend to use my HDTV as my computer's monitor, so my resolution is going to be set by my TV's native resolution. I don't know offhand what that resolution is, but it isn't extremely high.

I want to be able to plug the system in to my TV/XBox/PS3's receiver/sound system, instead of having to purchase seperate computer speakers. I realize that I may have to buy a high-end sound card to accomplish this.

I'm looking to run Vista Home Premium 64.

I do intend to overclock whatever components I can.

I am torn between the Q9300 and Q6600 Quad-Core Processors.

I'm unsure if I should be taking SLI in to my motherboard consideration. Right now I'm going with DDR2 1066 Corsair Ram (4GB), but I'm thinking I want to be able to upgrade to DDR3 without replacing the mb evetually. However, all of the motherboards that support SLI and DDR2/3 are out of my price range. DDR3 is currently out of my price range and doesn't perform as well, to boot.

I couldn't care less about the looks on the system, just want to make sure the cooling is enough, as far as cases go.

Any suggestions for components?

My recommendations:

Q6600
P35-DS3x (ie P35-DS3L); X38-DS4; P5K
8800GT/(G92)8800GTS
2GB+ DDR2 800 (DDR2 1066 seems to have compatibility problems) 4GB recommended.
7200.11 HDD(s)
PP&C 610 or Corsair 550/520/650

If OCing:
XIGMATEK- S1283

There is no need for SLI unless you want to play above 1600*1200. No need for DDR3 now either, as Nehalm will require new Motherboard/CPU, and will drive down DDR3 prices.

AVSexton

Distinguished
May 26, 2008
Thanks for the reply.