1 big monitor vs 2 smaller monitors

dumpy2

Distinguished
Jul 22, 2006
Hello,

I am planning on building a new set up for graphic / web design. Basically, I am teetering on 1 big monitor / tv 28" or 32" or 2 smaller 22" or 24" monitors. I have never run a 2 monitor set up before, I don't know much about it.

Do you have to be SLI to run 2 monitors?

Just some other things to keep in mind:

I will also be using this for playing pc games / hooking up my 360 to it.
I am a student, so budget will be a factor (why i was thinking about getting say 1 24" monitor now and purchase another later when i have extra funds)

Thanks in advance for any advice!

I would recomend 2 22" or 24" monitors (or a mix of them). One high quality monitor for the graphic design and one TN monitor for gaming on.

You should have much better color acuracy on a quality monitor than on a TV.

Currently, SLI dose not support multi displays. With a SLI setup, you must disable SLI to use the second display.

1 big or 2 smaller is pretty much personal preference. If you are running multiple apps at once, 2 monitors is nice to have. You can game on 1 and work on a project on the other.

You CANNOT run 2 monitors in SLI mode.
SLI mode enables 2 cards to work together to power 1, and only 1 monitor.

You can run 2 monitors on a single card, or 2 monitors on 2 cards.
Nearly all modern mid to high end video cards have 2 vga outputs for dual monitors.

CNeufeld

Distinguished
Jun 26, 2006
Personally, I'd go with two decent sized monitors (like 24's), for several reasons.

1) 1 big monitor will likely be more expensive than two small ones.
2) You get more usable screen real-estate with two small monitors than one large one.