tkuhl87

Distinguished
May 29, 2008
So here's my Dilemma. I currently have an older Gateway slim profile desktop. I plan on using it for a media center but am not sure what to upgrade to for Video stuff.

Here's the specs.

Pentium 4HT 2.4GHz
Mobo: standard Gateway mobo, (likely intel)
Graphics: Integrated as of yet, has an AGP slot
HDD: 40GB Maxtor
Power Supply: terrible 200W ish (slim profile)

So recommendations for spending like $300 to turn this into a decent HTPC?

Here's what I was thinking.

ATI - 3800series slim profile
New Slim profile case with a little better Power Supply
TV tuner card - somehow would like to work with a cable box
300GB seagate HDD for TiVo features

General advice on building these/upgrading would be much appreciated, I have plenty of computer building experience so detailed advice is appreciated.

groo

Distinguished
Feb 3, 2008
if you can ge a 3450 or 2400 in low profile. It should be enough for bluray and run with a 200watt PSU.
the best lowpro AGPs I could find on the egg were 6200. good enough for HD, but not bluray.

If your going to spend $300, you may want to build new

get a 780G or 8200 AMD mobo $80 no need for a graphics card
cheap crappy AMD CPU $40 or less, still better and more efiicient than your 2.4
the big added expense of this way is the OS (I don't know if you can transfere your current license), and to a lesser degree, RAM

here is a decent case
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811129039
but like I said, you could probably get by with what you have.

tkuhl87

Distinguished
May 29, 2008
Well, I'm fortunate enough to get a free copy of Windows Vista Ultimate and XP each year since I'm a student so obtaining a copy of Windows isn't an issue. Thanks for the advice, any ideas on TV cards? that's the area I have little to no experience in.

groo

Distinguished
Feb 3, 2008