Sign in with
Your question

New Raid Controller or SSD

Last response: in Storage
September 11, 2009 3:22:35 AM

I am currently using the Asus P6T Deluxe MB (Version 1, with the SAS controller) with a Core i7 920.

I have a questions about my Boot Drive.

Currently, I have 2 Velociraptors, the newest ones, in a Raid 0.

I am not all the impressed by my stats coming off the Raid drive. I am starting to think after research the the biggest bottle-neck I am having is using the on-board SATA Raid.

I was thinking of possibly investing in a PCIe SATA Raid controller to see if that that makes a difference, but I was looking at other options as well.

For the price of a controller, I am wondering if I am better off getting a SSD drive instead for my boot up drive. The Storage one be that great though and I have A LOT of software. (Besides major gaming, I am a flash developer and such... so you can imagine all the software I have installed).

I was looking to see what experience other people have had with These drives, with and without the on board SATA controller... and how that would compare to SSD, or even SAS?

(I know myself, and even if I got a SSD drive... I'd be itching to buy 2 of them for a Raid 0 and then I would be questioning the controller again anyway. LOL)

More about : raid controller ssd

a c 415 G Storage
September 11, 2009 4:34:06 AM

First of all, be aware that there are two major metrics of disk performance: sequential throughput and random I/O. People tend to pick and choose which measurement to use based on which way they want to argue. Hard drives in a RAID array can outperform an SSD in terms of sequential throughput, particularly for writing. But IMHO the more important metric for general desktop performance is random I/O and no hard drive, even using RAID, can hold a candle to an SSD for that.

So if performance is your concern then my recommendation is to skip over the RAID option and go straight for an SSD.