Review - Final build

Seasniffer

Distinguished
May 23, 2008
June 1st is my grad party, and that night or the next day I plan on counting up the money, taking it to the bank, and transferring whatever amount I need to my checking and buying these parts. But, since this is my first build ever. (I have a friend helping) I want to make sure it's done right, so if anyone out there would be kind enough to make sure everything works together, or offer suggestions to make stuff cheaper while getting the same performance/better performance, then feel free too. :)

http://secure.newegg.com/NewVersion/wishlist/PublicWishDetail.asp?WishListNumber=7643411

I already know someone is going to tell me to go with the MSI card, but I think that XFX card is a good deal, and I like the double warranty if I ever sell the card. Plus is comes with a free game. :p

Also note I already have Vista, keyboard, mouse, and monitor.

Thanks, and hopefully everything will go down with no problems at all. :p I don't want to be scared away with my first build. I've been wanting to do this for the past 3 years now. :p

shadowduck

Distinguished
Jan 24, 2006
Ok, not a bad build except!

RAIDMAX is trash, they make terrible PSUs and the RAIDMAX case I had was by far the worst I ever owned. Get rid of that. Look at Antec, P182, Nine Hundred, or Sonta III w/ a PSU all are vastly better.

Good CPU choice, great motherboard, I would go for 4-4-4-12 RAM but that kit is hard to beat with the MIR.

modode

Distinguished
May 21, 2008
Excellent potential build. All your hardware will play together nicely. The ONLY thing I see that worries me at all is those high heatsinks on your RAM. I've had situations with builds before when those types of sinks interfered with installation of an aftermarket CPU cooler such as the Xigmatech. I'm not sure whether it would or not in your case, but I've stayed away from RAM like that ever since.