Sign in with
Your question

Freeze when doing more than one thing at the same time

Last response: in Motherboards
August 3, 2008 2:31:46 PM

Hello there, first of all, id like to apologize if this is the wrong forums or a question already asked and answered somewhere else, im very new to this and looked around but didnt find something or someone with exactly the same problem as I have.

Here goes, some weeks ago I ordered a new computer at komplett.no.

It's name was Komplett gamer a10, cost me not to much, but as I didnt have much I was fine with this as I just wanted an uppgrade from the crap im using atm.

specs of this machine is this Proccessor: AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 6000+ 3.00GHz
Memory (RAM): 2.00GB (it was 1gb but i put in more eventually)
Systemtype: 32 bit OS
GfX card: Asus Geforce 8500gt

Windows vista it is. Now here's my problem really, when I first got it I noticed some strange freezes upon opening files, like trying to watch a movie, then clicking on a new movie to watch that instead. Or going through pictures, theres comes this loop sound like rrrrrr (?) and its all frozen, causing me to turn it off and on again. I reinstalled vista, uninstalled programs like asus gamer osd (some clocking mechanism I think). And it got better, I could log on World of Warcraft and play for a while, but If I try to turn on a movie while playing it freezes at once or before 30 seconds.

I returned it for repairs, waited a month, got it back with exactly the same problem. The only thing they had done was ran some mem tests, hdd tests and stuff like that.

Im not good with computers, I dont understand them much, but ive had some friends trying to guide me through various stuff to do.

Ive uppdated drivers, bios was also fine. Set it to work for max performance instead of quality (or whatever its called hehe)