Prime95 Fail - Recomendations

taylorjes

Distinguished
Feb 10, 2009
I'm new to this, but I have read as much as I can here at on a few other sites. I'm relaying my information/setup/situation for recomendations. I really am more interested in some experience rather than a ridiculous fast machine.

Setup

Intel Core2Quad Q6600 Kentsfield (G0)
Gigabyte EP45-UD3P (F8 BIOS)
G.Skill DDR2 400 (4 x 8Gb) [5-5-5-14]
Sapphire Radeon 4850 (512Mb)
*Note: according to CPUZ*
Antec 650w PSU
Antec 300 Case
CoolMaster HyperZ 600R CPU Cooler

Vista 64 - Business
CPU-Z (1.50)
Core Temp (0.99.4)
HWMonitor (1.13.0)
Prime95 (25.8.4)

Settings

378 x 9 = 3.40GHz
VCORE: 1.36v(HWM) 1.3125v(Core Temp)
DDR: 1.89v(HWM)

MIT (BIOS)
All Voltages are set to AUTO
Al Timings are set to AUTO
All Other settings are STANDARD/DEFAULT

Testing

Prime95 - Blend
FAIL on Core #3 @ 3min [Test 2 - FFT 1024k - 52C]
FAIL on Core #2 @ 20min [Test 4 - FFT 8K - 54C]

STOPPED @ 48min
CORE #0 [MAX 58C]
CORE #1 [MAX 58C]

I have a decent understanding of OC theory (ie. knowledge w/o experience). I would like to get stable @ 3.4GHz. I would like to attempt 3.5 & 3.6 (for kicks). I do not understand RAM timings.

Plan

Up VCORE until I get stable/overheat (bad).
Adjust timings (?!?)

Rescale to 425 x 8
OC RAM

Thank you in advance. If you need more information, please let me know.

Jesse

taylorjes

Distinguished
Feb 10, 2009
Just a side thought.

When I start to adjust my voltage should I take everything off AUTO and just set it to whatever AUTO was displaying.... or should I only adjust VCore from AUTO??

"G.Skill DDR2 400 (4 x 8Gb) [5-5-5-14] "
I am guessing that that is a typo.

Leave the memory timings alone. They are slow enough that they shouldn't limit the OC.

I take all my settings off "AUTO". You simply do not have any idea what the BIOS is doing or how it decided to do it.

Gigabyte lets you save and restore BIOS setups from the [F11] and [F12] keys. Very handy and saves a lot of time.