Sign in with
Your question

Can't Get i7 920 to 3.8 - Assistance Please

Last response: in Overclocking
April 12, 2009 8:56:43 AM

Hey guys, I'm having terrible luck getting my i7 920 to 3.8GHz or higher. I'm new to the OCing scene and proud to say I did 3.2GHz myself, but anything beyond that (trying adjusting templates posted for 4GHz +) isn't working out so hot.

I hate to say I'm looking for an easy out, but at least I'd love a baseline profile to go by. I tried the settings recommended in MaximumPC...needless to say, they left a lot out in what they adjusted and, not surprisingly (hey, I said I was new), I failed to get any boot with their settings.

I've had her up and running, twice, at 3.8GHz but I crash withing ten minutes of loading Prime95 with the settings I've been trying (as I said, I'd been "adjusting" profiles posted for 4GHz + OCs).

Any and all help is appreciated.

Specs:
Intel Core i7 920 @ 3.2GHz
Gigabyte EX-58 Extreme [rev: 1.0] ~ BIOS: F6
3x2GB OCZ Platinum DDR3 1600
CoolerMaster ATCS 840 Case
PC Power & Cooling 750W Silencer PSU
CoolerMaster V8 CPU Cooler
Nvidia GTX 295 GPU
Vista Ultimate x64 SP1

More about : 920 assistance

a b à CPUs
a b K Overclocking
April 12, 2009 6:17:59 PM

Read the overclocking sticky. Pay attention to the RAM settings since that will limit your overclocking efforts.
April 12, 2009 10:38:46 PM

we have different mobos, but the same GPU cpu cooler and RAM. I'll give you what I have and see if it works.

BCLK 190
CPU Multi. 20x
CPU core Voltage 1.21250
DRAM Bus Voltage 1.60
QPI/Dram Voltage 1.20

RAM Multi 8x @ 1520 7-7-7-18 1T timings
HT ON
Intel Turbo OFF
Intel Speedstep OFF

All else left on auto

April 13, 2009 4:09:50 AM

Maggard said:
Hey guys, I'm having terrible luck getting my i7 920 to 3.8GHz or higher. I'm new to the OCing scene and proud to say I did 3.2GHz myself, but anything beyond that (trying adjusting templates posted for 4GHz +) isn't working out so hot.