Suggestions for High-End PC?

therock003

Distinguished
Jan 6, 2008
I really need to build a powerful computer so that i can work with CAD/GIS business applications with ease. I'm not good with deciding the parts from scratch so i would really need your help with this.

Could you recommend some parts for this matter?

Fruity

Distinguished
Feb 20, 2009
Depending on the CAD apps that your are using, but as a general rule for CAD machines:

1. Use a high end core 2 duo - not many CAD apps utilise quad core. E8500 or similar should do UNLESS you want to run more than one instance of the app or do lot of other work while the CAD app is running, in which case quad core is your way forward.
2. Lots of RAM. Lots and lots. 8Gb if you are running big models / simulations
3. Good graphics card (HD4870 or higher)
4. 64 bit operating system. Check compatibility with the apps that your are using. Early versions of Catia V5 (up to R16 I think) won't run on Vista. R18 I think does. Not sure about Pro-E or IDEAS etc

And get a good monitor.... ;)

If you can post back what applications you use it may be easier to give more specific advice. A budget would also help.

Fruity (ex CAD jocky!)

therock003

Distinguished
Jan 6, 2008
Well mostly Autocad and many of its verticals, then Bentley and ESRI and possibly some additional programms running on cad environment like Microsurvey and Carlson Survey.

I hear that CAD applications nowadays utilize D3D and it's not really nesecary to go for quadro cards, does that hold true?

Fruity

Distinguished
Feb 20, 2009
Indeed quadro cards are not necessary any more for most new apps (autocad included), although things like the nVidia FX5800 Quadro is a great performer for CAD work, but then at £2500 is better be!!

So far as I know Autocad doesn't use quad core technology, but from the sounds of it you'll be running more than just AutoCad so quad core is probs your way forward.