New build, Installing 2 SATA drives

hatemf90

Distinguished
Aug 26, 2009
Hi all,

Am building a new i7 system, I want to put 2 SATA drives one is 250 gb and one 320gb. the 250 is used as an extra drive from another PC and is only one partition, the 320 is new.

what I want to do is make the 250 gb the main hard drive with windows, and make 2 partitions (i.e: C and D), but not sure how to do that when its currently 1 partition called G on the old PC (Do I just use the XP CD?) and add the 320 gb as the extra drive with 1 partition (hopefully E)

btw the 250 gb drive has some data that I need, is there any way to do this without reformatting all of the hard drive?

What would be the simplest way to do this? this is first time building my own PC, and I have no experience RAID or all these things...

appreciate the help.

Boxa786

Distinguished
May 8, 2009
You will not be using raid for what you want and need, so dont worry about it.

1. Backup your data from the 250gb, using an external drive or connect your new hard drive, 300gb, and backup to this instead. If you want to install on this drive and make two drive's/partitions first, then you will loose all data on it, so backup first.
2. Connect the 250gb drive and during windows xp boot from cd, just before it will ask you to choose where to install, you will need to delete your current partition (full 250gb), create 2 new partitions (splitting the 250gb how you want, ie c:100gb and d:150gb). Now format the partition you want c to be and install on there. You can either format the second partition, d, or format it once you have windows installed.
- Note: Prior to choosing where to install windows, it will not display which partition is c or d, you choose which you want as c, by selecting it as your installation drive (where you will have windows).