Sign in with
Your question

modem help

Last response: in Networking
Anonymous
May 14, 2001 7:41:49 PM

hello. I've read almost all the posts on modems and none seem to help. I've installed my modem (on 2 different ports), installed the software(windows chose drivers) set everything up(dial up net. and my isp conection) when I try to log on I get no dial tone(tried hooking a phone to the line after the modem and picked up the handset to feed it a dial tone) then it wont dial. I have my modem speaker on yet I still can't hear the dial tone, or dialing, or the operator. I don't know much about IRQs but in my device manger it says there are no conflicts. I went into the diagnostics of the modem and it says all ok.
I don't know anything about Interupts could this be my problem. This is my first time running WinME(personally don't lke it). This is crazy. I've been trying to get this to work for 2 days. This is the first time I've built a system from scratch. Everything went smoothly (except being able to find my 98se disk). Any suggestions?

AMD T-Bird 1000mhz /266FSB
ASUS A7A266 (I haven't had 1 issue with this mobo. I was surprised due to the posts Ive read.)
Matrox millenium G450 32ddr
Aureal vortex SQ2500
Modem( don't know manufacturer)PCI56k conexant chip
128md Samsung PC2100 ddr

More about : modem

May 15, 2001 12:10:17 PM