Sign in with
Your question

Overheating problems

Last response: in CPUs
July 20, 2008 3:20:07 AM

This is my first build, and it isn't going to well. When I power on my computer, maybe half an hour later, it shuts off by itself. I realized it was overheating, so I left one side of my case open. Since now it's summer, even that won't help it from shutting off by itself. The only way I can prevent it from not shutting down is by using a window fan to blow into my open case. Besides that, I've added a hard drive fan, but still doesn't keep it from shutting off. My CPU (Q6600) temperature reads in the mid-50s when idle with the stock cooler, so yeah that's another problem, but i doubt that powers off my computer. I'm using a Raidmax Smilodon case and I've heard it was bad airflow. I have 4 case fans now (3 that came with the case and 1 hard drive fan I bought), and still doesn't prevent it from shutting off. Is there a way of fixing this overheating problem, that I don't have to leave my case open and use a window fan to blow air into the case?

EDIT: I finally got the Zalman 9700 on my Smilodon case (had to install it from the side of the case on the ground). My CPU temperature didn't drop as much as I expected it to be (it's around 40). Here are the current temperature I have (using Everest):

Motherboard: 22
CPU: 41
Core 1: 46
Core 2: 47
Core 3: 40
Core 4: 44
GPU: 54
GPU Ambient: 45
GPU Memory: 46

CPU voltage: 1.1

Now I just hope that my computer doesn't shut off by itself again.

More about : overheating problems

July 20, 2008 3:28:15 AM

50's while idling is horrendus, (spell check). Are you using the stock cooler bud?
Anonymous
a b à CPUs
July 20, 2008 3:28:25 AM

re seat the heat sink... if its on in the wrong direction it might do that... it did that for me... turned sink 90 degrees and WALAH it worked
Related resources
a c 309 à CPUs
July 20, 2008 3:44:04 AM

It is likely that your heat sink is not on properly. The pushpin mount can be tricky.