Sign in with
Your question

MSI P45-Neo F - OCZ 1066 mhz issue

Last response: in Motherboards
August 11, 2008 8:19:47 PM

Greetings guys. First of all this is my first post on this forum. Thx a lot for the techpowerup staff for this beautiful website. By the way, i'm kinda new to core 2 duo & other stuff. It's been a long time since i've made my previous upgrade.
Anyways, a week ago i just upgraded my system, and i bought;

Intel e8500
MSI P45 Neo-F
OCZ Reaper hpc 1066 mhz 1gbx2
Palit Gtx 260
( i run this system with a 600w coolermaster psu )

I didn't have much time to make a research before buying those stuff, i admit i made some noobish choices about this configuration:banghead: and it seems msi p45 series have some sort of troubles with 1066 mhz rams. The board came with v1.0 bios, and i've upgraded it to v1.3 but it didn't really helped with my ram issue.
The problem is, when the rams are working on 800mhz, they work stable. But when i adjust the rams for 1066 mhz on 2.1, 2.2, 2.3v it seems to work on 1066 but the system becomes unstable. I've tried to contact MSI but it seems i'll have to wait for a newer version of bios, which exactly fixes this issue ( i've read about the 1.4v it seems the problem still exists, so i didn't flashed my bios to 1.3 to 1.4 ).
Since i'm new to this stuff i've just wanted to be sure that at least my rams are working in 800mhz.
Let me give you the readings which i've got with cpu-z program.