Best cooler for AMD Phenom II X4 955?

Kantololo

Distinguished
Apr 26, 2009
Hiya. I'm a first time computer builder and I'm having trouble finding the right cooler for the build I want. The problem I'm having is that both of the mobos I'm looking at (GIGABYTE GA-MA790FXT-UD5P and ASUS M4A79T Deluxe) apparently have the RAM slots too close to the cooler and the cooler blocks off a RAM slot or two. I say "apparently" because I've never actually seen a mobo or cooler in real life and I have no idea where the RAM slots are on a mobo.

So, I guess my real question is, what good coolers can I use that will fit the CPU and not block off any RAM slots? I intend to use all four RAM slots, so it's pretty important.

Thanks a lot to anyone who can help me out.

Oh, and sorry if this is a stupid question or in the wrong forum... >_> I'm a complete newb at computer parts.

unclefester

Distinguished
Nov 8, 2008
Welcome to THG Kantololo
I'm using the Zalman 9700 LED on a Asus M3A79T-Deluxe MoBo (ASUS M4A79T Deluxe is the same board just it's the AM3 version), with OCZ Reapers that the HPC heat pipes and didn't have a problem with clearance on the memory slots.
Now you may choose to go with a different CPU cooler, but you can use the measurement specs from the 9700 to help give you an idea what you have for clearances.

tonkaee

Distinguished
Mar 26, 2009
im using a cooler master v8 cooler (fairly big cooler) with my msi k9a2 platnium board with o clearance with my corsair dominator ram, iver heard though that the v8 has clearance problems in most cases so if you go with that make sure you have enuff space in your future case and good luck with your build just did mine recently for the first time