Sign in with
Your question
Solved

What are my options?

Last response: in Storage
September 28, 2009 5:42:21 PM

Sorry for the dumb questions, but I am kind of new at dealing with hard drives and RAID arrays. I never really did anything besides install 1 disk on any of my previous builds. That being said, I have been considering creating some kind of RAID array. My goal is to increase performance. Here is what I have:

1 x 1TB Seagate 7200
1 x 500GB Seagate 7200
1 x 500GB WD external USB

I was about to buy a second 1TB drive and do a RAID 0 with those. I could use either remaining drive for backup, correct? If I do that will partitioning off the OS increase my performance as well? Do I have any other options? Also, I have the Asus P7P55D MOBO that comes with Asus Drive Xpert. I have not installed it, but I assume it is simply RAID software. Is that acceptable, or do I need to look into hardware RAID controllers?

Thanks!

More about : options

September 28, 2009 5:50:21 PM

Software raids are a waste of time - hardware only. Real life performace or RAID 0 is questionable.

Why not by a performace hard like V Raptor or SSD and leave the existing drives for storgae.

The main idea of partiioning a hard drive for the OS is to stop the page file from spilling all over the disk - its a way of keeping 1 section "clean and ordered" if you go for a performance drive for OS and apps only - this is not really needed.
m
l
September 28, 2009 6:05:33 PM

I thought about that too, but the price of the performance drives turned me off a bit. So you are suggesting something like 150GB raptor for OS and games/applications, and just use the others for storage? If so, can you give me an idea of what the performance difference would be from a 7200 drive like I am using now?
m
l
Related resources
September 29, 2009 6:01:10 PM

the old raptors are a think of the past - new valocer raptors can still be called performace drives.