Sign in with
Your question

How to use old hard drive on my new computer

Last response: in Windows 7
August 31, 2011 2:54:13 PM

Hello,
*I have a new windows 7 (professional 64) machine.
*I removed my two hard drives from my old computer (windows xp).
*I installed them in my new computer as drive F and G
*I want to be able to use my programs and access all my data on my old drives, in my new computer
*I want to be able to access my old outlook data, including email from my old drives
*I see a bunch of folders in my F and G drives, but can't seem to use any of the program files and I don't even see "my documents" from my old computer or any outlook files...maybe I am lookign in wrong place.

I am new to all this and may have gotten myself in over my head :) 

Thank you in advance for any help you may be able to offer

Janna

More about : hard drive computer

a c 289 $ Windows 7
August 31, 2011 3:26:14 PM

You will not be able to use the programs on the other drives, you have to re-install them on the new computer.

The outlook files are in a hidden folder. My documents should be on your drive in C:\Documents and Settings\USERNAME\My Documents

The emails pst files are also in the old user directory. Do a search for .pst files in your old user directory and select it to search hidden files. You can then open them up on your current Outlook. You may want to copy them over to the new drive before using them.
August 31, 2011 3:37:15 PM

Thank you so much "hang"

really need my old emails and docs, so I will get on that straight away.

Dang, I was hoping I would not have to repurchase my Adobe program (I think my old IT guy has the discs and he has kind of disappeared).

Have a great day everyone

Related resources
a c 289 $ Windows 7
August 31, 2011 3:51:37 PM