Sign in with
Your question

New member to the boards. My first question

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
June 26, 2008 10:54:18 PM

Greetings all~

I am very new to the world of computers. I have been a gamer since USAF days back in the 80's when the commadore 64 was the bomb. With that being said, I just purchased a new computer, and had a graphics card question, I hoped some of you more seasoned folks could help me with.

I just purchased a new HP Pavilion 9300t series. It is a huge upgrade from the 2001 Dell Insperon, that finally died a few weeks ago.

My HP came with an Intel Quad 2.66/ 4 gigs of ram and an Nvidia 8600GT. Dont get me wrong. The 8600 GT blows away the old ATI card I was used to, and is running WOW great. I am getting 40-60 fps on all settings at 'high' and 1680x1050 display, with a good deal of mods running as well. What I was looking at doing, was to try my hand at some more 'high' end games. Ones that would put a greater load on my system, than what the 8600GT can handle.

I was wanting to upgrade to a 8800 series card, but I am afraid my power supply that came stock with my PC would'nt be able to handle it. My HP came with a 350 w. power supply.

Do I need to upgrade my power supply prior to upgrading my card? Or would this power supply be acceptable? And, how do I determine how much more power I need?

Like I mentioned before, I am not very familiar with computers or the basic vocabulary. I have enjoyed reading some of the treads here on this forum, and what little knowledge I have gained over the past week, is from what I have read here.

I will say this. I can see how someone can get serious about their systems and building or 'Moding' their own custom machines. This has been a very entertaining and intreging information. I could see myself getting the courage up to build my own gaming monster in time. Granted...that is if my wife didnt kill me first.