ANNOYING 4200+ Overclock Issue

Mikee99

Distinguished
May 2, 2009
Hey Guys,

I have an Athlon X2 4200+ (AM2), and I would like to overclock it to preferably the max it can go without a voltage increase. However, I have an annoying issue that I just can't seem to wrangle: I can OC it easily by upping the FSB to at least 214Mhz without any BSOD's or errors, but, whenever I place my system into sleep mode, it dies when resuming. Unfortunately, the ONLY setting that I can place the FSB speed at without any sleep mode issues is 202MHz, and that pretty much defeats the purpose of overclocking.

**Also please note, that I am not an expert at OC-ing, and this is one of the first times I am doing this. I have read the extensive A64 OC guide, but that did little to solve my problem.**

Below are my specs:
1.) AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ Windsor AM2 2.2Ghz Stock 11x Multiplier
2.) Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-M55SLI-S4 Rev. 1.0 BIOS: Beta F11J
3.) 650W Corsair TX650W PSU
4x Corsair RAM modules (3GB Total):
(2x) 512MB Corsair XMS2 TWIN2X1024A-6400 (5-5-5-18 [According to CPUZ])
(2x) 1GB Corsair XMS2 TWIN2X2048-6400 (5-5-5-18)
4.) Nvidia GeForce 8800GT 512MB
5.) Windows Vista Home Premium x32

Below are some of my BIOS settings:
1.) Voltages are all default
2.) FSB has been set from default of 200 to 214 without errors/BSOD's (only the sleep issue, which affects 204 and up). [I currently have it set to 202, as that is stable without sleep mode errors]
3.) *I have Cool & Quiet enabled, however, disabling this setting had absolutely no effect on the sleep mode issue.
4.) HTT Link is set to Auto
5.) CPU multiplier settings are set to Auto
6.) RAM speeds were dropped to DDR2 667 (my mobo shows the combined MHz, not the individual speed for the RAM Modules). This was done because I get memory errors if set it at DDR2-800 (with all 4 modules installed). [Note: I have temporarily removed the 512MB modules, and the same sleep mode problem persists. I have currently placed them back in.]