Sign in with
Your question

Display Not Working!

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
June 28, 2008 1:29:57 AM

Hi there, I'm new to Tom's Hardware but heard from reliable sources that this website be a good place to go for my problem. I hope I'm in the right section, forgive me if I'm not.

Anyways, on to my problem.

I recently had just an eMachines T6211 computer but with a ATI Radeon X800GTO graphics card.
The PSU that was supplied with this computer had a max wattage of 300w in which my card, requires a minimum of 350w.
This being the case, I went onto newegg.com and bought me a new case, the Raidmax Smilodon to be exact.

The case arrived 2 days ago and everything was going smooth.
I was able to get everything out of the eMachines case and place it into my new case.
After getting everything hooked up, I plugged in all the wires into the back and pressed on the power.
Everything was still running smooth: lights came on, all the fans, hard drives, CPU fan, graphics card, CD drives...just everything.
And when I look down to the monitor, I have no display.

The monitor is just a Dell CRT, nothing fancy.

When the cord from the monitor isn't plugged into the VGA slot, the monitor states "No Signal".
When I do plug the cord into the back of the computer, the monitor just seems to go to "sleep" by showing a orange light.
I've tried the motherboard VGA, and two graphics cards - none of them worked.

I can't figure out the problem either because the motherboard doesn't have a little speaker to *beep*.
But the case I bought came with one (just a small speaker with a 4 pin connector), although I can't seem to find a spot on the motherboard to even place it.

Besides trying two graphics cards and the motherboard VGA, I've re-seated everything plenty of times.
I've reset the CMOS plenty of times as well.
I even let the computer do its thing and load up Windows regardless of no display to see if my keyboard or mouse lights would come on but they didn't.