BFG 8800GTS 512MB G92 refresh rate problem?

Ph0X

Distinguished
Jun 28, 2008
Well, first to start, I'm not a pro and I'm not 100% sure it's a refresh rate problem, but I've had this problem for a while and I've asked couple place and people tell me it might be a refresh rate problem.

So first of all, my problem is, after a while that I use my computer (no games), my display starts getting wierder and wierder symptoms.

First, backgrounds on some websites start having problems rendering (i have to scroll up and down), then some programs with invisible borders become pink or some other color. After that, I can't take screenshots anymore... and there's alot of other symptoms too.

When I do a DXDIAG display test (after these problem start happening), I get these errors.

Code:
No problems found.
To test DirectDraw functionality, click the "Test DirectDraw" button above.
Direct3D 7 test results: Failure at step 39 (SetDisplayMode to 640x480x16): HRESULT = 0x80004001 (Not implemented)
Direct3D 8 test results: Failure at step 8 (Creating 3D Device): HRESULT = 0x88760827 (error code)
Direct3D 9 test results: Failure at step 8 (Creating 3D Device): HRESULT = 0x8876086c (error code)

But all these problems seems to fix after I format.. then after couple hours it starts again.

Then, if I try playing a game.. it goes WAY faster, after couple minute, i start getting problems, then the game either crash, or in some rare cases, I BSOD and it's linked to nv4_disp.

Lemme put some info here, that could maybe help you guys find the problem.

1. I have q6600 @ 3.3ghz (I think it's OV'd a little)
2. I had OC'd my GPU up to 750, at first I had no major problems, but then these problems started and i went back to 675 (default)
3. I had the dumb idea to install DX10 for xp.... but then I system restored back to my dx9.
4. I have already tried cleaning DX. Installing back 8.1 from CD then installing back 9.0c. Didn't fix it.